Scientific Advisory Group (SAG)

The NDEWS SAG is a combination of 8 federal and 11 nonfederal representatives from across the country with expertise in a multitude of fields. The SAG meetings and ongoing discussions provide a unique opportunity to create a new paradigm for identifying and understanding emerging drugs and drug trends. Coordinating Center staff, NIDA, and SAG members work together to build and shape each NDEWS component. The SAG meet virtually once a year to discuss important current and emerging drugs and drug issues and Coordinating Center staff consult with SAG members as needed for advice and guidance on various issues.

Caleb Banta-Green, PhD, MSW, MPH
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute
University of Washington
calebbg@u.washington.edu

Michael Baumann, PhD
NIDA Intramural Research Program
Designer Drug Research Unit
mbaumann@mail.nih.gov

CDR Tom Bosy, PhD
Office of the Assist Secretary of the
Navy
Substance Abuse Office
thomas.bosy@navy.mil

Edward Boyer, MD, PhD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
edward.boyer@childrens.harvard.edu

Fe Caces, PhD
Office of National Drug Control Policy
maria_fe_caces@ondcp.eop.gov

Robert Carlson, PhD
Center for Interventions, Treatment,
and Addictions Research
Wright State University
robert.carlson@wright.edu

Tom Carr
Washington/Baltimore High Intensity
Drug Trafficking Area
thcarr@umd.edu

Daniel Ciccarone, MD, MPH
University of California San Francisco
daniel.ciccarone@ucsf.edu

Linda Cottler, PhD, MPH
University of Florida
Department of Epidemiology
lbcottler@ufl.edu

Robert DuPont, MD
Institute for Behavior and Health
bobdupont@aol.com

Matt Gladden
CDC ONDIEH/NCIPC
Div of Unintentional Injury Prevention
mgladden@cdc.gov

Jim Hall
Ctr for Applied Research on Substance
Use and Health Disparities
Nova Southeastern University
upfrontin@aol.com

Jennifer Havens, PhD, MPH
Center on Drug and Alcohol Research
Univ of Kentucky College of Medicine
jhave2@uky.edu

Jill Head
DEA Emerging Trends
Program/Reference Materials Program
Special Testing & Research Laboratory
jill.m.head@usdoj.gov

Brian Kelly, PhD
Purdue University
bckelly@purdue.edu

Rob Lyerla, PhD
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration
rob.lyerla@samhsa.gov

Jane Maxwell, PhD
University of Texas, Austin
jcmaxwell@austin.utexas.edu

LCDR Pedro A. Ortiz, PhD
Armed Forces Medical Examiner System
(AFMES)
Division of Forensic Toxicology
pedro.a.ortiz4.mil@mail.mil

Liqun Wong
DEA (NFLIS)
liqun.l.wong@usdoj.gov