Sentinel Community Epidemiologists (SCEs)

The NDEWS Coordinating Center has organized two types of local experts: Sentinel Community Epidemiologists (SCEs) and Community Epidemiologists (CEs). The SCEs are the point of contact for the 12 NDEWS Sentinel Community Sites and are members of the NDEWS Network. They work with Coordinating Center staff to prepare annual profiles on current drug use and abuse at their site and report on emerging drugs and drug trends.

Atlanta Metro
Brian J. Dew, PhD
Dept of Counseling and Psychological
Services
Georgia State University
Phone: 404-413-8168
bdew@gsu.edu

Chicago Metro
Lawrence J. Ouellet, PhD
School of Public Health
University of Illinois at Chicago
Phone: 312-355-0145
ljo@uic.edu

Denver Metro
Marion Rorke, MPH
Department of Environmental Health
City and County of Denver
720-856-5453
marion.rorke@denvergov.org 

Wayne County (Detroit Area)
Cynthia L. Arfken, PhD
Dept of Psychiatry and Behavioral
Neurosciences
Wayne State University
Phone: 313-993-3490
cynthia.arfken@wayne.edu

Los Angeles County
Mary-Lynn Brecht, PhD
Integrated Substance Abuse Programs
University of California at Los Angeles
Phone: 310-267-5275
lbrecht@ucla.edu

Maine
Marcella H. Sorg, PhD, RN
Rural Drug and Alcohol Research Program
University of Maine
Phone: 207-581-2596
mhsorg@maine.edu

Southeastern Florida (Miami Area)
James N. Hall, BA
Center for Applied Research on Substance
Use and Health Disparities
Nova Southeastern University
Phone: 786-547-7249
upfrontin@aol.com

New York City
Denise Paone, EdD
Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Use
Prevention, Care and Treatment
New York City Dept of Health & Mental
Hygiene
Phone: 347-396-7015
dpaone@health.nyc.gov

Philadelphia
Suet T. Lim, PhD
City of Philadelphia
Dept of Behavioral Health and Intellectual
disAbility Services
Community Behavioral Health
Phone: 215-413-7165
suet.lim@phila.gov

San Francisco
Phillip O. Coffin, MD, MIA
San Francisco Dept of Public Health
Phone: 415-437-6282
phillip.coffin@sfdph.org

King County (Seattle Area)
Caleb Banta-Green, PhD, MSW, MPH
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute
University of Washington
Phone: 206-685-3919
calebbg@u.washington.edu

Texas
Jane C. Maxwell, PhD
School of Social Work
The University of Texas at Austin
Phone: 512-656-3361
jcmaxwell@austin.utexas.edu